Preparing for the cold

Veganistische linzensoep

** English below **

Ik weet niet hoe jullie het hebben ervaren, maar ik vond het behoorlijk koud gisteren. Afgelopen maandag was het nog 34°C op ons balkon! Nu was ik natuurlijk voorbereid op deze temperatuurswisseling. Als voorzorgsmaatregel had ik een flinke portie soep uit de vriezer gehaald, want er is niks lekkerder dan met een grote kom soep op de bank kruipen na een lange, koude dag. Vooral niet als het om deze soep gaat. Deze veganistische, en volgens de AH Marokkaanse, linzensoep is het perfecte comfort food tijdens deze koude dagen. Ze geeft een hele hoop warmte en ze is bovendien ontzettend makkelijk en snel te bereiden. Ik maak het graag als ik alleen voor mezelf kook. Zo weet ik zeker dat er genoeg in de vriezer verdwijnt voor dagen als deze😉.

Het recept kun je hier terugvinden*. Zoals gewoonlijk neem ik het ook met dit recept niet zo nauw. Als ik toevallig een blik linzen of kikkererwten heb staan waar iets meer of iets minder in zit, dan ga ik natuurlijk niet op zoek naar een ander blik. Je kunt er voor kiezen om iets meer of minder bouillon toe te voegen, maar meestal laat ik dat achterwege. Ja, de soep wordt dan dikker of dunner dan ‘het hoort’, maar daar kan ik erg goed mee leven. Ik gebruik ook andere olie dan wordt aangeraden. Soms pak ik gewone olijfolie, soms kokosolie met of zonder smaakje. Hetzelfde geldt voor de pitabroodjes. De soep is, vanzelfsprekend, net zo lekker met een stokbroodje of met gewoon brood. Ondanks dat koriander een zeer lekkere toevoeging is aan het gerecht, heb ik het hier niet gebruikt. Dat doe ik wel als ik de soep voor meerdere mensen maak, maar als ik toch van plan ben om het overgrote deel in te vriezen laat ik het achterwege. Als mijn korianderplant nog geleefd had, dan had ik er wel een paar blaadjes afgeknipt. Helaas…

Geniet ervan!

*NB: Na het schrijven van deze blog ben ik het recept gaan aanpassen om het meer pit te geven (wat nodig is want het blijft maar koud!). Ik voeg nu bij stap 2 een snufje (1ml) chilipoeder, cayennepeper, paprikapoeder en gemalen koriander en een ‘half snufje’ piment toe.

** English **

I don’t know what your experiences are, but I thought it was cold yesterday. Last Monday, it was 34°C on our balcony! Obviously, I was prepared for this shift in temperature. As a precaution, I had taken some soup from the freezer. Nothing beats sitting on the couch after a long, cold day with a big bowl of soup. Especially if it this soup we’re talking about. This vegan, and according to the AH Moroccan, lentil soup, is the perfect comfort food cold days. She gives an awful lot of warmth and she is extremely easy and quickly to make. I prefer to make it when I just cook for me. That way, I’m sure that enough will disappear into the freezer, waiting for days like these.

You can find the original recipe in Dutch here.

Ingredients*:

– 4 tbsp olive oil

– 1 onion, chopped

– 2 stalks of celery, cut in arcs

– 2 tsp cinnamon

–  1 can lentils (approx. 400 grams), drained

– 1 can chickpeas (approx. 400 grams), drained

– 1 can diced tomato (approx. 400 grams)

– 1 litre vegetable stock

– 1 lemon, cut in half

– Fresh coriander (approx. 15 gr), minced

1. In a large pot, heat the olive oil. Add the onion, the celery and the cinnamon. Sautee for approximately 2 minutes over low heat.

2. Add the lentils, the chickpeas and diced tomato and stir.

3. Add the stock and bring to a boil. Cook for 10 minutes on low heat.

4. Press one half of the lemon and cut the other half in parts.

5. Add the juice to the soup and stir well.

6. Use a hand blender to blend the soup. Leave it a little bit chunky.

7. Divide over 4 bowls. Finish off with the coriander, the lemon parts and toasted pita bread.

As usual, I don’t mind playing around a little with the recipe. If I happen to have a can of lentils or chickpeas with more or less than 400 grams, I simply use that one. You could add a little more or a little less stock if you want to, but I usually don’t. Sure, the soup gets a little more fluid or a little less than it is ‘supposed to be’, but I can very well live with that. I also use a different oil than suggested. Sometimes, I go with regular olive oil, sometimes I use coconut oil, with or without a flavour. The same goes for the pita bread they suggest you eat with the soup. It is, obviously, as good with a baguette or regular bread. Despite coriander being a great addition to the dish, I didn’t use it here. I will use it when I make the dish for several people, but if I’m planning on putting the larger into the freezer I just don’t care. If my coriander plant would have been alive still, I probably would have cut off some of the leaves. My bad…

Enjoy!

Note: After writing this post, I tweaked the original recipe a little to spice it up. I now add a pinch (1ml) of chili powder, cayenne, paprika powder and ketoembar (ground coriander) and a ‘half pinch’ of allspice during step 2.

Leave a Reply

