Coconut lime cupcakes

Coconut lime cupcakes

** English below **

Mijn verjaardag komt eraan en als bakken één van je hobby’s is dan kun je niet met een slagroomtaart uit de vriezer van de supermarkt aan komen zetten. Nou ja, het kan wel, maar ik koos ervoor het aan te grijpen als excuus om nieuwe recepten uit te proberen. Omdat ik ook niet alle tijd van de wereld heb en cupcakes en muffins zich heel goed laten invriezen en dus van te voren gemaakt kunnen worden was de keuze vrij makkelijk. Ik wilde het simpel houden, maar kwam nou eenmaal teveel lekkere recepten tegen (wie zegt dat je zonder eieren niet kan bakken?). Van de 5 die door de keuring kwamen (niet te veel ingrediënten, makkelijk, zien er overheerlijk uit) was de eerste meteen een schot in de roos. Ik ben helemaal geen fan van kokos en probeerde dit recept enkel omdat ik niet alleen maar chocolade op tafel wilde zetten, maar deze kokoslimoencupcakes zijn niet te versmaden! Het recept vond ik op de website van de Veggiechallenge (waar trouwens nog meer hele lekkere dingen op staan) en ik heb slechts één dingetje veranderd: ik dacht dat ik nog volkoren meel in de kast had, maar dat bleek niet het geval. Ik vond ze met ‘gewone’ tarwebloem zo lekker dat ik ze wellicht gewoon zo laat. Ook heb ik ze 10 minuten langer in de oven gehad omdat de bovenkant niet wilde bruin worden.

Kokoslimoencupcakes

Je vindt het originele Nederlandstalige recept hier.

Ik vond het beslag erg dun en het zweet stond me dan ook op mijn voorhoofd, maar het komt echt helemaal goed. Zoals je ziet🙂

** English **

My birthday is coming up and when baking is one of your hobbies you can’t serve pie straight from your supermarket’s freezer. Well, you can, but I preferred to use this opportunity as an excuse to try out a few new recipes. Since I don’t have all the time in the world and cupcakes and muffins freeze pretty well (and can thus be made in advance), it was quite an easy decision. I wanted to keep it simple, but I was confronted with just too many promising recipes (who said that you can’t bake without eggs?). Of the 5 recipes that made it through (not too many ingredients, easy, looking delicious) the first try was an instant hit. I’m really not a fan of coconut and only tried this recipe so I had other things to offer than just chocolate, but these coconut lime cupcakes are sublime! I found the recipe on the website of the Veggiechallenge (which has a lot of good recipes, in Dutch…) and I made one tiny change: I thought I still had whole wheat flour, but I hadn’t. I love them with ‘normal’ flour so I might never try the original recipe. I also kept them in the oven for 10 minutes longer because the top refused to turn golden.

Coconut lime cupcakes

Makes 12

Ingredients:

– 125 grams of flour
– 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
– a pinch of salt
– 75 grams of shredded coconut + extra for garnish
– 75 millilitres sunflower oil
– 150 grams cane sugar
– 250 millilitres coconut milk (I used full fat)
– 25 millilitres soy milk (don’t ask me why)
– juice and zest of 1 small lime

1. Preheat oven to 175°C and line your muffin pan with 12 muffin/cupcake liners.

2. In a large bowl, mix the flour, the baking powder, the salt and the shredded coconut.

3. In a small bowl, mix the oil and sugar well. Add this to the large bowl (no need to mix just yet!).

4. Add the lime zest, the lime juice, the coconut milk and the soy milk and carefully mix until just combined. The batter is very wet, but it will turn out ok! Spoon the batter into the twelve liners. Bake for 25-35 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean and the cupcakes have turned golden. Sprinkle with some shredded coconut.

Leave a Reply

