Chili rice with bell pepper and chickpeas

Chili Rice** English below **

Na ons tripje naar het verre noorden snakte ik naar een makkelijk te bereiden maaltijd waar veel groente in verwerkt zat. Ik heb dit recept ooit online gevonden (ik denk op de AH site), maar T en ik hebben ons zonder resultaat helemaal suf gegoogled. Uiteindelijk heb ik het gemaakt zoals ik het me ongeveer herinnerde. Goedkoop, makkelijk, snel en smakelijk (of het ook gezond is moet je iemand anders vragen).

Chilirijst met paprika en kikkererwten

Ingrediënten (voor 2 hele hongerige mensen):

– 200 gram rijst
– 3 paprika’s (rood, geel, groen), in reepjes of stukjes
– 1 blik kikkererwten, afgegoten
– 1 á 2 eetlepels wokolie of olijfolie
– 3/4 cup chilisaus (kijk voor de zekerheid op het etiket, ik heb geen flauw idee of chilisaus an sich veganistisch is)
– 1/4 cup water

1. Bereidt de rijst volgens de aanwijzingen op de verpakking.

2. Verhit de olie in een hapjespan of wok. Roerbak de paprika 4 minuten op middelhoog vuur.

3. Voeg de chilisaus, het water en de kikkererwten toe.

4. Laat het geheel 5 minuten sudderen op laag vuur. Serveer met de rijst. Makkelijk, hè?

** English **

After our little trip to the far north of our country, I yearned for a meal that was easy to prepare and chock full of vegetables. I once found this recipe online (I think it was on the Albert Heijn website), but T and I Googled our asses of without any results. In the end, I made it the way I remembered it. Cheap, easy, quick and tasty (whether it is healthy too I don’t know).

Chili rice with bell peppers and chickpeas

Ingredients (for 2 very hungry people):

– 200 grams of rice
– 3 bell peppers (red, yellow, green), cut into pieces
– 1 can chickpeas, drained
– 1 to 2 tablespoons wok oil or olive oil
– 3/4 cup chili sauce (check the label to be sure, there might be non-vegan chili sauces out there)
– 1/4 cup water

1. Prepare the rice according to the instructions on the package.

2. Heat the oil in a frying pan or a wok. Cook the bell peppers for 4 minutes on medium heat.

3. Add the sauce, the water and the chickpeas.

4. Let the sauce simmer for about 5 minutes on low heat. Serve with the rice. Easy, right?

Leave a Reply

